"Sent" Work

F. Prefect
F. Prefect
Joined: 7 Nov 05
Posts: 135
Credit: 1,016,868
RAC: 0
Topic 190281

I'm not referring to credits which was covered in the FAQ. But I have noticed that at times after sending a completed job, it will show up in the "Sent" column in "My Results" almost immediately while others take several hours, and 1 or 2 may not have shown up at all. Is it normal for the time to vary so widely when reporting that a completed job has been received?

F. Prefect

In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.....Douglas Adams

Gary Roberts
Gary Roberts
Moderator
Joined: 9 Feb 05
Posts: 5,196
Credit: 41,862,076,006
RAC: 45,144,644

"Sent" Work

Ford,

The "Sent" column in your results list is the time that new work is sent TO you.

When you send completed results back to the server (uploading) those results disappear immediately from your work list in BOINC Manager. However it doesn't show immediately on the server. The deadline date in the "Time reported or deadline" column remains green for a while longer. Eventually, your BOINC client gets around to "reporting" the result to the server and this usually occurs at a time when BOINC decides to request new work. When the result is "reported" to the server, the time that occurs is noted by the green "deadline" value changing to a black "time reported" value on your results list on the server.

The above processes may happen almost immediately or may be delayed for a bit and I think this is what you are referring to although you seem to have the column names a bit confused. Please ask again if I'm not answering what you want or if you don't understand the answer. It's quite normal to have some delay between "uploading" and "reporting". You can always manually "Update" through BOINC Manager if you need to force the issue but leaving it happen automatically is usually the best way to go.

I've just had a look through the results lists of all 4 active CPUIDs and everything looks quite normal. You could merge all the "phantom" ones you have managed to accumulate if you would like to have a more "user friendly" list to look at, though. I believe I gave you instructions about that previously. Do you need any help with that?

Cheers,
Gary.

Richard M
Richard M
Joined: 11 Nov 04
Posts: 71
Credit: 2,032,695
RAC: 0

The "Sent" column on your

The "Sent" column on your Results page refer to the time the workunit was sent to your host. I assume you are referring to the "Time reported or deadline" column. When the finished result is uploaded to the sever that is all that happens at that time. The result information is returned when your host contacts the server the next time for more work or when the deadline for that workunit is near the deadline whichever occurs first. The result information can also be sent if you update the project after uploading the completed workunit.

Hope that makes sense. :-)

Richard

Click the Sig!

BOINC Wiki

F. Prefect
F. Prefect
Joined: 7 Nov 05
Posts: 135
Credit: 1,016,868
RAC: 0

RE: Ford, The "Sent"

Message 20335 in response to message 20333

Quote:

Ford,

The "Sent" column in your results list is the time that new work is sent TO you.

When you send completed results back to the server (uploading) those results disappear immediately from your work list in BOINC Manager. However it doesn't show immediately on the server. The deadline date in the "Time reported or deadline" column remains green for a while longer. Eventually, your BOINC client gets around to "reporting" the result to the server and this usually occurs at a time when BOINC decides to request new work. When the result is "reported" to the server, the time that occurs is noted by the green "deadline" value changing to a black "time reported" value on your results list on the server.

The above processes may happen almost immediately or may be delayed for a bit and I think this is what you are referring to although you seem to have the column names a bit confused. Please ask again if I'm not answering what you want or if you don't understand the answer. It's quite normal to have some delay between "uploading" and "reporting". You can always manually "Update" through BOINC Manager if you need to force the issue but leaving it happen automatically is usually the best way to go.

I've just had a look through the results lists of all 4 active CPUIDs and everything looks quite normal. You could merge all the "phantom" ones you have managed to accumulate if you would like to have a more "user friendly" list to look at, though. I believe I gave you instructions about that previously. Do you need any help with that?


Thanks Richard, Gary,

After I got to looking at the "sent" column more closely I realized the times did not correspond to the times I "sent" the completed job in, which had to mean that "sent" did not mean what I at first believed and that left only one explaination.

As far as Phantoms are concerned, I have no idea what they are or what you are referring to. However, it is possible that I missed any explaination you posted, but I doubt this to be the case as I have never seen anything in the help files referring to such animals. And yes, when you have the time I would appriciate a definition and instructions for removal if you believe it is best to do so.

Thanks Guys,
Gary
F. Prefect

In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move.....Douglas Adams

Richard M
Richard M
Joined: 11 Nov 04
Posts: 71
Credit: 2,032,695
RAC: 0

F.Prefect, What Gary is

F.Prefect,
What Gary is referring to is the number of hosts shown in your account info.
There appears to be nine duplicates of host #442310. To remedy this, go to your account page and merge the duplicates with #442310. Start with the bottom of the list and work your way up. When you finish, your account will show only four hosts. Correct me if I'm worng about the number of hosts you have.

TTYL
Richard

Click the Sig!

BOINC Wiki

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.