Before reset / detach/ uninstall *please*...

gravywavy
gravywavy
Joined: 22 Jan 05
Posts: 392
Credit: 68,962
RAC: 0
Topic 190609

If you feel it is time to move on you may well want to detach from this project, reset your client, or even uninstall it.

The project will be sorry to lose you, and be grateful for whatever you have done while you were here. Before you do go, there is something you can do first that will make life easier for those of us still crunching.

First go to the projects tab, highlight each project in turn, and click 'no new work'

If you have time, let everything run to completion. If you do not have time to wait for this, then it is still useful to tell the project(s) you are dropping out. This is how you do that:

Please click on each WU in the work tab that has not yet completed, and abort it. Then please let the client run on for a few minutes till everything disappears or shows as 'ready to report'

If some work shows as 'ready to report' you can speed things up by highlighting the project in the projcts tab and then clicking 'update'. Go back to the work tab and wait for all the work to disappear.

Once all the work has gone, feel free to reset, detach, or uninstall.

Why does this help? The abort stage tells the project not to expect that work back from you. Instead of waiting for up to 14 days for the work to come back, the project automatically sends it on to someone else as soon as it gets the update on the aborted work.

This makes even more of a difference with the new Albert work than it did before, as the project no longer sends out a 'spare' copy of the work.

River~~

~~gravywavy

Michael Roycraft
Michael Roycraft
Joined: 10 Mar 05
Posts: 846
Credit: 157,718
RAC: 0

Before reset / detach/ uninstall *please*...

River,

Agree completely with you. I hope you meant this as a general notice/plea, instead of a direct reply to someone. Aborting work that will not/cannot be completed before deadline is the considerate thing to do for your fellow crunchers and for the project.

Regards,

Michael

microcraft
"The arc of history is long, but it bends toward justice" - MLK

gravywavy
gravywavy
Joined: 22 Jan 05
Posts: 392
Credit: 68,962
RAC: 0

RE: Agree completely with

Message 24133 in response to message 24132

Quote:
Agree completely with you. I hope you meant this as a general notice/plea, instead of a direct reply to someone.

Not quite a direct reply, but inspired by two threads complaining of larger pending queues with Albert (due to the decreased redundancy). It occurred t me that at least some of these are caused by butterfly newbies - how many of them would stick around to read this appeal I don't know but I thought it is worth a go to ask :)

~~gravywavy

Professor Ray
Professor Ray
Joined: 22 Feb 05
Posts: 46
Credit: 191,867
RAC: 7

(See messg #25418) I just

(See messg #25418)

I just had another violent crash (not to mention another failed WU).

I'm officially detached from the project.

DanNeely
DanNeely
Joined: 4 Sep 05
Posts: 1,277
Credit: 1,306,667,140
RAC: 1,160,169

To really be useful IMO this

To really be useful IMO this needs to be put in the both the installer, uninstaller (with a check box to do the aborts), and as "quit.txt" in the start menu folder.

gravywavy
gravywavy
Joined: 22 Jan 05
Posts: 392
Credit: 68,962
RAC: 0

RE: To really be useful IMO

Message 24136 in response to message 24135

Quote:
To really be useful IMO this needs to be put in the both the installer, uninstaller (with a check box to do the aborts), and as "quit.txt" in the start menu folder.

That is a really good point.

Also, if the box is network connected at the time of a reset or detach, the client should send back the abort notices automatically. If the box is not network connected a dialog box could come up with a polite request to wait till the netwrok is available. It would need to have a 'go ahead anyway' option to cope with situations where reporting aborted WU would not be possible, but at least the user would know they were causing inconvenience if they went ahead past the warning.

My guess is that around 80% of those who just drop out would have the courtesy to wait & abort if asked nicely - they just don't realise it makes a difference.

R~~

~~gravywavy

all_for_einstein
all_for_einstein
Joined: 21 Feb 05
Posts: 3
Credit: 284,517
RAC: 0

Hi! After having installed

Hi!

After having installed the version 4.19 (quite some time ago) under wine on my linux box, I recently decided to install the current linux version client.

When uninstalling the wine client I must have made a mistake and one old workunit was not aborted correctly:

result id:14648393
computer id: 73186

Whom do I have to tell that this will not be finished any more before the deadline (changing from the wine to native linux changed the computer ID and the work has not been re-send to me for working on it again)?

Lutz

P.S.: The 5.2.13 clients on both my linux box and my XP machine are running smoothly. Nice programming!

Michael Roycraft
Michael Roycraft
Joined: 10 Mar 05
Posts: 846
Credit: 157,718
RAC: 0

RE: Whom do I have to tell

Message 24138 in response to message 24137

Quote:

Whom do I have to tell that this will not be finished any more before the deadline (changing from the wine to native linux changed the computer ID and the work has not been re-send to me for working on it again)?

Lutz

P.S.: The 5.2.13 clients on both my linux box and my XP machine are running smoothly. Nice programming!

Lutz,

You can ignore that last one, and have no worry about it's fate. :-) It will be re-assigned in due time. Thank you for your thoughtfullness and consideration in aborting those.

Regards,

Michael

microcraft
"The arc of history is long, but it bends toward justice" - MLK

all_for_einstein
all_for_einstein
Joined: 21 Feb 05
Posts: 3
Credit: 284,517
RAC: 0

Thanks for the

Thanks for the Info!

Regards,
Lutz

DanNeely
DanNeely
Joined: 4 Sep 05
Posts: 1,277
Credit: 1,306,667,140
RAC: 1,160,169

Have you tried merging your

Have you tried merging your old and new computer IDs?

Jim Baize
Jim Baize
Joined: 22 Jan 05
Posts: 116
Credit: 582,144
RAC: 0

even though they are the same

even though they are the same computer, they will not merge because they are different OS's.

Good thought, though.

Jim

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.