Removing a Project from the Client

Tom Awtry
Tom Awtry
Joined: 18 Jul 05
Posts: 100
Credit: 520,861
RAC: 0
Topic 189674

Guys – I need your advice; when I originally signed up for projects on BOINC, I took on S@H and E@H. Since signing up I’ve downloaded work units from both organizations and completed all units (S@H and E@H) before their completion dates were due.

Good so far, except now I want to devote all my resources to E@H only, but I have 3 remaining S@H units (due dates coming up soon) that have been down loaded to my client. I’ve put a stop on receiving additional S@H units, but how can I gracefully blow these 3 remaining S@H units away without upsetting the S@H folks to much and causing additional heart burn for them.

Thanks,
Tom

Gary Roberts
Gary Roberts
Moderator
Joined: 9 Feb 05
Posts: 4,923
Credit: 30,385,763,955
RAC: 36,091,809

Removing a Project from the Client

Quote:
I’ve put a stop on receiving additional S@H units, but how can I gracefully blow these 3 remaining S@H units away without upsetting the S@H folks to much and causing additional heart burn for them.

Wait until they finish and upload, then "update" to report the results and finally "detach" from Seti.
Edit: Once they are back on line of course :).

Cheers,
Gary.

John McLeod VII
John McLeod VII
Moderator
Joined: 10 Nov 04
Posts: 547
Credit: 632,255
RAC: 0

There are two possibilities

There are two possibilities for how to detach gracefully, and it depends on the version of BOINC and in some cases whether you are using BOINC View or not.

If the BOINC version is greater than about 4.35, there will be a button on the projects page labeled "No New Work". Select S@H, and push this button, it will then change to allow new work (and depending on the version, may or may not change the state field of the project).

If the BOINC version is 4.20 or greater and you are using BOINC view, there is a button in the button bar that looks like a red recycle symbol (about third button from the left). Select the S@H project and push this button.

If the BOINC version is earlier than 4.20, the instructions become much more difficult. You go to your account, and set the disk usage numbers to something absurd that will not leave enough allocated disk space on HD for any work. Wait until all S@H WUs are done, and detach. Go to your E@H disk usage settings, and make certain to set them to something useful again. Update E@H. The disk settings are global, and the most recent change wins.

Tom Awtry
Tom Awtry
Joined: 18 Jul 05
Posts: 100
Credit: 520,861
RAC: 0

RE: If the BOINC version is

Message 15161 in response to message 15160

Quote:
If the BOINC version is greater than about 4.35, there will be a button on the projects page labeled "No New Work". Select S@H, and push this button, it will then change to allow new work (and depending on the version, may or may not change the state field of the project).

John & Gary – Thanks for the informative advice on aborting S@H gracefully. John my BOINC version is 4.45 and I have already, prior to my first posting, selected accept “No New Work” under the “Projects” tab.

Under the “Work” tab, on the client, I have “Suspended” three S@H work units; should I “Abort” these three work units to remove them being listed from my list of scheduled work?

Again Thanks,
TA

Gary Roberts
Gary Roberts
Moderator
Joined: 9 Feb 05
Posts: 4,923
Credit: 30,385,763,955
RAC: 36,091,809

RE: John & Gary – Thanks

Message 15162 in response to message 15161

Quote:


John & Gary – Thanks for the informative advice on aborting S@H gracefully. John my BOINC version is 4.45 and I have already, prior to my first posting, selected accept “No New Work” under the “Projects” tab.

Under the “Work” tab, on the client, I have “Suspended” three S@H work units; should I “Abort” these three work units to remove them being listed from my list of scheduled work?

My advice was given after noting that you were running 4.45 and had already selected "no new work". I also assumed you might like to give a parting present to Seti :).

I'm grateful to John however for explaining so fully the quite different procedures, particularly for 4.19 as there are probably still quite a few of us running that version :). There is no easy button to find for 4.19 :).

You can safely abort any suspended WUs that have no accumulated crunch time, and for that matter, any with crunch time that you don't care about. If, however, one WU was, say, 95% done, you might consider unsuspending it as your last hurrah for Seti before you go 100% EAH :).

Cheers,
Gary.

Tom Awtry
Tom Awtry
Joined: 18 Jul 05
Posts: 100
Credit: 520,861
RAC: 0

Gary & John – Thanks for your

Gary & John – Thanks for your time and very explicit, informative replies to resolving my concerns of exiting S@H gracefully.

Regards,
Tom

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.