News

Certificate update - please update old BOINC clients

April 13, 2018

Due to Google removing trust for Symantec certificates, we need to update our SSL certificate. This will happen on Monday (Apr 16). The new certificate will ensure compatibility with new webbrowsers, but BOINC clients older than v7.4 may no longer be able to connect. If at all possible, please update your BOINC client.

20

Einstein@Home discovers first millisecond pulsar visible only in gamma rays

February 28, 2018

Einstein@Home has found two previously unknown rapidly rotating neutron stars in data from the Fermi gamma-ray space telescope. While all other such millisecond pulsars have also been observed with radio telescopes, one of the two discoveries is the first millisecond pulsar detectable solely through its pulsed gamma-ray emission.

8

Project downtime 2018-01-30

January 23, 2018

Update: due to an unrelated hardware problem at our Milwaukee site we need to extend this brief downtime to the entire project, not just the website. The other facts stated remain the same.

Oliver


One minor update was not implemented, but it only deals with the E@H Web site. On Tuesday 2018 January 30th at 1430 UTC the Web site will be down for about 30 minutes. That is 1530 CET for Central Europe and 0930 EST for east coast North America.

The project will continue to run as normal. Volunteers will not have to do anything.

4