Upgraded & lost WU's.

Rubylove106
Rubylove106
Joined: 25 Aug 06
Posts: 8
Credit: 98,038
RAC: 0
Topic 192566

I recently upgraded to version 5.8.15 but lost the work units I had downloaded to the previous version. This wasn't a problem, however they are still showing on my results as waiting to be completed.

Is there a way to retrieve them or will they just disappear once their date for completion has passed?

Rubylove 106.

Michael Karlinsky
Michael Karlinsky
Joined: 22 Jan 05
Posts: 888
Credit: 22,245,334
RAC: 0

Upgraded & lost WU's.

Quote:


Is there a way to retrieve them or will they just disappear once their date for completion has passed?

Rubylove 106.

The computers listed under your account seem to be identical. You can merge them
and the "lost" results should reapper after the next scheduler request.

HTH

Michael

Rubylove106
Rubylove106
Joined: 25 Aug 06
Posts: 8
Credit: 98,038
RAC: 0

RE: Thanks! I'll give it a

Message 61801 in response to message 61800

Quote:

Thanks! I'll give it a go!

Rubylove106

The computers listed under your account seem to be identical. You can merge them
and the "lost" results should reapper after the next scheduler request.

HTH

Michael


Rubylove106
Rubylove106
Joined: 25 Aug 06
Posts: 8
Credit: 98,038
RAC: 0

I followed the instructions

I followed the instructions but nothing happens. I can't see what I'm doing wrong.

Rubylove106

Jord
Joined: 26 Jan 05
Posts: 2,952
Credit: 5,601,505
RAC: 244

It's two result slices that

It's two result slices that you will miss from the work unit that you are crunching. They will time out and be done by someone else.

Had you lost the whole work unit, it would have been resent. But you didn't lose the work unit (the big file on your drive).

Rubylove106
Rubylove106
Joined: 25 Aug 06
Posts: 8
Credit: 98,038
RAC: 0

Thanks for the response. I

Thanks for the response. I just can't work out why I can't merge my listed computers when they're actually the same one listed twice! Never mind, it's not a major problem.

Rubylove106.

Jord
Joined: 26 Jan 05
Posts: 2,952
Credit: 5,601,505
RAC: 244

That's because the

That's because the description of the CPUs isn't the same.

One is a GenuineIntel
x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10 797MHz

The other is a GenuineIntel
x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10 797MHz [x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10] [fpu tsc sse mmx]

Your BOINC version added those extra bits to the description.

What you can do is delete the old CPU description once the results listed are all purged. Deleting a computer in the list does not affect old credits you have.

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.