What happens to credit's when I delete a host ?

Paul D. Buck
Paul D. Buck
Joined: 17 Jan 05
Posts: 754
Credit: 5,385,205
RAC: 0

You were right ... Oops

You were right ... Oops ...

I fixed it and added a note ... well, we can look at it later ... :)

Still, it was a pretty good example ... then I loused it up :(

Stephen Miller
Stephen Miller
Joined: 9 Feb 05
Posts: 1
Credit: 125,518,247
RAC: 0

RE: If you started off as a

Message 17535 in response to message 17529

Quote:

If you started off as a single user and accumulated 2000 credits, you have 2000 credits.

Now you want to be part of a team. So you join a team, where you start to accumulate credits from zero for that team. In this team you accumulate 2000 credits.

By this time you have 4000 credits, the team has 2000 of your credits.

You then get into your head that another team is better, so you quit the one team and join the other. You start with zero credits at this team. You accumulate another 2000 credits.

By this time you have 6000 credits, the old team has 2000 credits and your new team has 2000 credits.

Credits will always stay with the individual. But to prevent team-hopping as happened in Seti Classic, where people would take 2 million credits from one team to another, if only for a week, then hop back, this rule has been changed for the whole of BOINC.

Credits will stay with the individual.
Teams get the credit you accumulate from the day you join to the day you quit.

This is NOT how it worked when I joined BOINC Synergy or how others show up and is not how I understand it or have seen it work.

Your individual stats always are your own stats. When you join a team, your stats become additive to your selected team stats. If you want to be #1 in a team, find a team whose stats are lower than yours and join. You're #1.

When you leave a team, all your credits get deducted, in bulk.

My stats track precisly on the team page with my personal stats. There is no offset. Otherwise, team jumping would be a full time job keeping track of those pesky adds and deducts. That would be a major nightmare. It doesn't work that way. It can't work that way without a major re-do of the databases.

Stephen
http://www.boincsynergy.com/images/stats/comb-1749.jpg

Jord
Joined: 26 Jan 05
Posts: 2,952
Credit: 5,779,100
RAC: 0

I think what you see, and

Message 17536 in response to message 17535

I think what you see, and even see with another person's computer, is that you join with full credits on the new team's charts. You still start counting with zero credits team-wise though. YOUR credits aren't added to the team's credits.

Try to find The Final Front Ear in your different stats. We got a lot of people added and lost some. Did the people that added themselves take their complete credit over onto our team? Did TFFE jump in the charts?

I bet ya it didn't.

Remember, your credits always stay with you!
You will always compete against others in a team.
If you jump team with 9,000 credits to another team, it's fine. If the highest person in that team is at 8,000 credits at that time, you jump into first place. Why? Because you take your credits with you to the listing of that team, yet the team itself doesn't get your 9,000 credits!

You are still competing to all the other individuals in that team; you aren't competing against your old team, until you get more credit: only then are you competing against them with your new team. :)

Paul D. Buck
Paul D. Buck
Joined: 17 Jan 05
Posts: 754
Credit: 5,385,205
RAC: 0

Not sure about all of the

Not sure about all of the teams. But, there is nothing to say that a team might not be keeping a different set of "books" using the old method. But, the Project web sites, and the third party stat sites (which should be working only off of the XML files) use the new BOINC team method. A team only gets credit added to its total when you are a member of that team.

You can look at the server code and when credit is granted it is added to the computer, then to the account, then to the team (if any) ...

Since the three totals are accumulated independently of the others, deleting a host or team does not affect any of the other totals ...

Raimund Barbeln
Raimund Barbeln
Joined: 15 Feb 05
Posts: 3
Credit: 2,572,797
RAC: 6,733

As far as i have seen it in

As far as i have seen it in our team, if you have never joined a team before, your new team will get all the credit you have colleted so far.
But if you quit a team, the new team will only get the credits you collected after you have quit the last team.
This resulted in a big jump in CPDN in our team when two people with very high credits joined some days ago.

when life gives you lemons, make lemonade!

Gary Roberts
Gary Roberts
Moderator
Joined: 9 Feb 05
Posts: 5,493
Credit: 65,471,969,501
RAC: 54,014,676

RE: As far as i have seen

Message 17539 in response to message 17538

Quote:
As far as i have seen it in our team, if you have never joined a team before, your new team will get all the credit you have colleted so far.
But if you quit a team, the new team will only get the credits you collected after you have quit the last team.
This resulted in a big jump in CPDN in our team when two people with very high credits joined some days ago.

I don't know about CPDN but I can assure you that at EAH, a user joining a team does not add a single credit from his previous "collection", quite irrespective of whether or not that user has ever been in any team previously. This is the way it has always been here (unless, of course, there has been some very recent change that I haven't seen).

Cheers,
Gary.

Raimund Barbeln
Raimund Barbeln
Joined: 15 Feb 05
Posts: 3
Credit: 2,572,797
RAC: 6,733

You are right! I just

Message 17540 in response to message 17539

You are right!

I just checked that same user in Einstein, and there was no jump in team credits when he joined. So this seems to be something special with CPDN.

when life gives you lemons, make lemonade!

Paul D. Buck
Paul D. Buck
Joined: 17 Jan 05
Posts: 754
Credit: 5,385,205
RAC: 0

I think we missed that update

I think we missed that update in the Wiki with regard to the differences in CPDN which does some things differently than do the rest of the BOINC projects ...

Let me ask Chris R. and see if I can get the straight dope so we can "Fix" the bloopers in the Wiki ...

eberndl
eberndl
Joined: 18 Jan 05
Posts: 43
Credit: 98,691
RAC: 0

Perhaps it's due to the

Perhaps it's due to the differences in CP. What if you get all the credits for all CURRENTLY CRUNCHING WUs (this several thousand credits), so someone with 5 computers all of them at least half done their most recent CP WU would bring all the credit associated with those WUs over, because it's the same WU it all has to be in one pile...

Just an idea that came to me...

Ingleside
Ingleside
Joined: 23 Jan 05
Posts: 33
Credit: 67,602,892
RAC: 0

RE: I think we missed that

Message 17543 in response to message 17541

Quote:

I think we missed that update in the Wiki with regard to the differences in CPDN which does some things differently than do the rest of the BOINC projects ...

Let me ask Chris R. and see if I can get the straight dope so we can "Fix" the bloopers in the Wiki ...

In most BOINC-project crediting is very easy, when a result has passed validation, the last job of the Validator is to add the granted credit to:
a; The users total credit.
b; The computers total credit.
c; The team the user is currently on (if any) total credit.

This means, deleting a computer will still leave a and c unchanged, and jumping from team to team will not change c to any of the teams. Also, joining a team for the 1st time will still not change c, since only the Validator can add credit.

But, in CPDN crediting isn't done by the Validator, but instead based on trickles. Due to some problems with users getting "bonus-credits" on finalized result, CPDN is now re-calculating all credits routinely based on users trickle-info. This also means team-credit in CPDN increase/decrease when users joins/leaves.

"I make so many mistakes. But then just think of all the mistakes I don't make, although I might."

Comment viewing options

Select your preferred way to display the comments and click "Save settings" to activate your changes.